banner
logog

© franciscan cyberspot


CUSTODY OF
THE HOLY LAND,
Franciscan Friary,
St. Francis Str. 1,
Jerusalem



MENU

LATEST
CUSTODY
NEWS
COMMUNICATIONS
SBF
FPP
CIC
FAI
SHRINES
VIA CRUCIS
PILGRIMS
MADABA MAP


Visit our
BETHLEHEM
Website

ORAISON FUNEBRE POUR LE SOUVERAIN PONTIFE JEAN-PAUL II • 6.4.2005

Très chers frères et sœurs,

La circonstance qui nous trouve réunis ici est empreinte de tristesse. C’est que l’Église vient de perdre son fils le plus éminent. Et nous tous, à ce que je crois, nous nous sentons aujourd’hui un peu orphelins. Toutefois cette tristesse n’est pas absolue. Loin de là ! Nous sommes convaincus que la Jérusalem céleste vient d’accueillir un nouveau citoyen. Nous tous, nous sommes maintenant remués en ce moment si particulier de la vie de l’Église. Mais nous sommes aussi joyeux, parce que nous nous savons soutenus par cette assurance que, dans le Christ ressuscité qui est notre espérance et notre certitude, Jean-Paul II est bien vivant, puisqu’il est ressuscité avec le Christ. C’est ainsi que nous célébrons ici, dans la basilique de la Résurrection, l’eucharistie de la Résurrection, parce que si la mort du pape nous afflige, nous sommes par ailleurs réconfortés par sa résurrection.

De ce pontife nous pourrions dire tant de choses. Il a été un géant dans l’histoire de cette dernière trentaine d’années. Il aura été l’homme des records : l’un des pontificats les plus longs dans l’histoire de l’Église ; un nombre incroyable de voyages apostoliques, de documents produits et de fidèles élevés aux honneurs des autels.

Il a été le pape qui a poursuivi avec vigueur, en l’actualisant sans cesse, ce profond renouveau de l’Église, lancé par le Concile Vatican II. Il a été le défenseur de la dignité inaliénable de la personne humaine contre toute tyrannie, contre toute exploitation, contre tout abus. Il fut le défenseur de l’image de Dieu pour tout être humain. En Amérique latine, en Afrique, dans son Europe lacérée par des conflits fratricides, en Asie et en particulier dans notre Moyen Orient, il a été la voix libre, autorisée et puissante en faveur des plus faibles, des derniers et des plus dépréciés. Il s’est donné totalement au Christ et à son Église, en dépensant toutes ses énergies dans l’annonce cohérente et sans compromis de l’évangile.

Surtout il a été le pape des gestes prophétiques. Il nous plaît d’en rappeler deux, en particulier, parce qu’ils regardent plus directement l’Église de Terre Sainte.

Le premier, c’est la rencontre avec tous les chefs religieux du monde à Assise. Ce pape, venu de l’Est de l’Europe, avait en effet pris comme l’un des engagements prioritaires de son pontificat le dialogue entre les religions. Dans ses nombreux voyages, il a toujours voulu rencontrer les chefs religieux locaux de toutes les croyances, en insistant sur le fait que le devoir de toutes les religions était de travailler pour la Paix.

Et qui plus que nous peut vivement ressentir cette préoccupation ? Nous qui, à Jérusalem, vivons non seulement dans la collaboration mutuelle, mais bien plus encore, nous qui vivons ensemble avec nos amis hébreux et musulmans et avec les frères des Églises d’Orient, avec qui nous partageons les Lieux Saints de la Rédemption. Nous ressentons très fort les paroles du pape, à l’occasion de sa dernière rencontre avec le Patriarche œcuménique Bartolomé, à Rome, le 29 juin dernier. « Qu’ils soient un ! Voilà d’où surgit notre engagement de communion, en réponse à l’ardent désir du Christ. Il ne s’agit pas d’un vague sentiment de bon voisinage, mais du lien indissoluble de la foi théologale par quoi nous sommes destinés non pas à la séparation, mais à la communion. (…) Que la conscience ne nous reproche jamais ni d’avoir, en ce domaine, omis des démarches ni d’avoir laissé de côté des chances ni de ne pas avoir tenté tous les sentiers.

La présence à cette célébration des frères hébreux et musulmans, à qui nous sommes reconnaissants d’être ici, en plus des frères chrétiens des autres confessions, est un témoignage de l’œuvre infatigable de ce pontife pour le dialogue interreligieux et œcuménique et de la nécessité pour nous tous de poursuivre ce chemin, qu’il a indiqué de façon si autorisée et si courageuse, pour l’édification d’une mentalité de paix et de respect. Tous les croyants hébreux, musulmans et chrétiens doivent être avant tout des témoins croyables de l’espérance, parce que nous sommes convaincus de la bonté de Dieu pour tous les hommes. Sans l’espérance, l’on ne peut pas vivre. Nous devons être des témoins et des gardiens responsables de l’espérance.

L’autre geste prophétique qu’il nous plaît de rappeler à votre attention, qui va dans la même direction, c’est la visite historique dans la synagogue de Rome, le 13 avril 1986. Pour nous, qui vivons dans le contexte hébraïque, ce geste a une signification qu’on peut difficilement amenuiser. C’est avec ce geste en effet qu’il a inauguré les nouvelles relations d’amitié, de connaissance mutuelle et de respect entre l’Église catholique et la tradition hébraïque, dans laquelle le christianisme plonge ses racines et sans laquelle on ne saurait comprendre l’événement de Jésus de Nazareth. Le pape remerciait alors le Seigneur pour « la fraternité retrouvée et l’accord profond entre l’Église et le peuple hébreu » ; il souhaitait qu’on « dépassât les vieux préjugés et qu’on créât de l’espace pour la reconnaissance toujours plus entière de ce lien et de ce commun patrimoine spirituel qui existe entre juifs et chrétiens. (…) « La religion hébraïque – continuait le pontife – ne nous est pas extrinsèque, mais d’une certaine façon elle est intrinsèque à notre religion ».

Je ne peux certainement pas conclure ce bref et, de toute façon, cet inadéquat rapport sur Jean-Paul II sans faire mention du pèlerinage qu’il a effectué ici en Terre Sainte, du 20 au 26 mars, à l’occasion du grand Jubilé de l’an 2000. Les gestes posés dans ce pèlerinage historique constituent une borne kilométrique sur la route de l’Église dans ses apports avec le judaïsme et l’islam.

À cette occasion, le Saint Père tenait à dire : « Pour nous tous, Jérusalem, comme l’indique son nom, est la Cité de la Paix ». Et dans ces circonstances, le pape a élevé la voix pour évoquer le don de la paix, pour cette ville, pour la Terre Sainte, pour le Moyen-Orient, pour le monde entier ! La Terre Sainte, en particulier, a toujours été au sommet de ses pensées et de ses préoccupations. Pensons à tous ces Angelus qu’il a consacrés à ce thème et à tous ces inoubliables enseignements sur la paix, à l’occasion des Messages pour la journée mondiale de la paix !

Je veux en citer un particulièrement significatif, celui de l’année 2002 : Il n’y a pas de paix sans justice et il n’y a pas de justice sans pardon : « En méditant sur le thème du pardon, on ne peut pas ne pas se rappeler quelques tragiques situations de conflit, qui depuis trop de temps alimentent des haines profondes et déchirantes, avec en conséquence la spirale ininterrompue de tragédies individuelles et collectives. Je me réfère en particulier à tout ce qui arrive en Terre Sainte, lieu béni et sacré de la rencontre de Dieu avec les hommes, lieu de la vie, de la mort et de la résurrection du Christ de Jésus, le Prince de la paix ». Comme elles sont encore actuelles ces paroles et comme c’est encore si difficile de se pardonner, sur cette Terre que nous aimons.

C’est justement en ce contexte, blessé par la haine e les divisions, par des tensions sans fin, par la peur surtout, que la voix de Jean Paul II s’est toujours élevée avec autorité pour inviter toutes les parties à se rencontrer, à dépasser les hostilités réciproques, mais surtout à abandonner toute forme de violence, d’où ne peut dériver que la violence.

Il y a un épisode de ce pèlerinage historique de l’année jubilaire que j’ai en tête : c’est le jour du départ du Saint Père, cette décision tout à fait imprévue, quand il a demandé de revenir ici, dans cette basilique, pour pouvoir s’arrêter dans une prière solitaire sur le rocher du Calvaire. Cet épisode me revient sans cesse à l’esprit, parce que je crois qu’il est caractéristique de tout le pontificat de Jean-Paul II. Un pontificat vécu à l’ombre de la Croix. Qui parmi nous, en le regardant dans ces dernières années n’aura pas senti au dedans de soi l’écho de la prophétie d’Isaïe, que nous écoutons chaque vendredi au cours du Chemin de la Croix : « Il n’a ni apparence ni beauté pour attirer nos regards, ni splendeur pour nous séduire. Abandonné et rejeté par les hommes, homme de douleur, lui qui connaît bien la souffrance… » C’est ainsi que nous est apparu désormais Jean-Paul II : icône de celui qui «par sa sainte Croix a racheté le monde ». Mais malgré cette pauvre apparence physique, le Saint Père continuait à être dans le monde le témoin de la Résurrection du Christ et de sa signification libératrice pour tout homme. Du reste, ici, il y a cinq ans, le pape avait dit : « La Résurrection de notre Seigneur Jésus Christ est le signe que le Père éternel est fidèle à sa promesse et qu’il fait naître une nouvelle vie à partir de la mort (…) La Bonne Nouvelle de la Résurrection ne peut jamais être dissociée du mystère de la Croix ».

Cette foi que le Saint Père proclamait, c’est la même foi que la nôtre. Et si maintenant nous sommes tous attristés par la disparition de cette éminente figure de l’Église et du Christ, nous sommes aussi, dans la sérénité, convaincus que « le Christ ressuscité des morts ne meurt plus, la mort n’a plus aucun pouvoir sur lui ». Nous savons en effet « qu’il vit et qu’il vit pour Dieu » (Rm 2,8.10).

Le prophète Isaïe aujourd’hui proclame : « Le Seigneur… a détruit sur cette montagne le voile qui nous cachait tous les peuples et le tissu tendu sur toutes les nations. Il a fait disparaître la mort à jamais. Le Seigneur Yahvé a essuyé les pleurs sur tous les visages… en lui nous espérions. Exultons et réjouissons-nous du salut qu’il nous a donné. Car la main de Yahvé reposera sur cette montagne » (Is 25,7.9-10). Ceci s’applique à Jérusalem.

Oui, ici, sur cette colline, à Jérusalem, dans ce lieu, nous avons expérimenté son salut, ici il a annulé la mort pour toujours et a essuyé toute larme. L’ange dans l’évangile le répète encore : « N’ayez pas peur, vous ! … Il est ressuscité comme il l’avait dit… allez l’annoncer à mes frères » (Mt 28,5.10).

Jean-Paul II nous laisse à nous, habitants de la Terre Sainte cet héritage : N’ayez pas peur ! C’est combien de fois proclamé par l’évangile que nous venons d’entendre. Et c’est aussi le cœur de son enseignement. Cette parole est adressée maintenant à nous, les habitants de cette montagne, Jérusalem, tel un stimulant pour notre action ; nous n’avons pas peur d’exulter pour son salut ni de témoigner à nos frères l’amour qui embrasse tant de peuples, qui abat tant de barrières, qui vainc toute inimitié et dépasse toute division.

Veuille, la Mère du Seigneur, à qui le pape était consacré dans sa devise Totus tuus, accueillir son fils dans la joie des saints et donner à l’Église un nouveau témoin qui sache la conduire toujours plus avant, le long des routes tracées par Jean-Paul II.

Fra Pierbattista Pizzaballa ofm
Custode de Terre Sainte

Jérusalem - Basilique de la Résurrection
mercredi 6 avril 2005; 11 heures.


bullet  Communications Main                                Custody Main  bullet

rightlogo

 

FOLLOW THIS LINK IF YOU WANT TO  Contact us - Contattaci - Contacte con nosotros

Please fill in our Guest book form - Thank you for supporting us!
Created/Updated Tuesday, 6 April, 2005 at 8:56:08 am by J.Abela, E.Alliata, Marina Mordin
Web site uses Javascript and CSS stylesheets - Space by courtesy of Christus Rex

© The Franciscans of the Holy Land

cyber logo footer

banner
logog

© franciscan cyberspot


CUSTODY OF
THE HOLY LAND,
Franciscan Friary,
St. Francis Str. 1,
Jerusalem



MENU

LATEST
CUSTODY
NEWS
COMMUNICATIONS
SBF
FPP
CIC
FAI
SHRINES
VIA CRUCIS
PILGRIMS
MADABA MAP


Visit our
BETHLEHEM
Website

HOMILY ON THE OCCASION OF THE FUNERAL OF POPE JOHN PAUL II • 6.4.2005

Dear brothers and sisters,

Today we are gathered here on a sad occasion, because the Church has lost its most important member, and I believe that all of us today feel a bit like orphans. This sadness, however, is not absolute: we are convinced that the heavenly Jerusalem has welcomed a new citizen. Right now we are all shocked in this particular moment in the life of the Church. At the same time, however, we also feel joyful, because we are sustained by our certainty that John Paul II lives in the risen Christ, who is our hope and our certainty, because he is risen with Christ. For this reason we are celebrating here, in this Basilica of the Resurrection, the Mass of the Resurrection, because if we are saddened by the Pope’s death, we are at the same time comforted by Christ’s resurrection.

One could say many things about this Pope. He has been a giant in the history of these last thirty years. He has been a man of primacies: his pontificate has been one of the longest in the history of the Church, he has undertaken an incredible number of apostolic journeys, he has published numerous documents, and elevated a long list of faithful to the glory of sanctity...

John Paul II has been the Pope who vigorously carried on to implement that profound renewal of the Church which was begun during the Second Vatican Council. He has been the defender of the inalienable dignity of the human person against all kinds of tyranny, exploitation and abuse. He has been the defender of the image of God in every human person. In Latin America, in Africa, in his Europe torn apart by conflicts among neighbouring peoples, in Asia, and particularly in our Middle East, Pope John Paul II has been the free voice, the voice of authority and strength in support of those who are the weakest, of those who are the last, the poor and the despised. He has offered himself totally to Christ and to His Church, and for this cause he has dedicated all his energies in the coherent proclaiming of the Gospel without any compromise.

He has been, above all, a Pope of prophetic gestures. We are pleased to remember some of these gestures in particular, that is, those which directly regard the Church in the Holy Land.

The first gesture has been the meeting of all the leaders of the world religions in Assisi. The Pope who came from the East had assumed inter-religious dialogue as one of the priorities among the commitments of his papacy. In his numerous journeys he always wanted to meet the local religious leaders of all kinds of faiths, and he insisted in affirming that all religions have the duty to work in order to be builders of Peace.

Who can feel this preoccupation which touches one’s own life more than we do? We who live here in Jerusalem do not only live in a reciprocal collaboration, but we also live together with our Jewish and Muslim friends and with our brothers of the Eastern Churches, with whom we share the Holy Places of our Redemption. We are invited to listen once more to the words of the Pope, on the occasion of his last meeting with the Ecumenical Patriarch Bartholomew in Rome on June 29th, 2004: “Ut unum sint! This is from where our commitment of communion flows, as an answer to the ardent desire of Christ. This is not simply a vague sentiment between those who feel close to one another, but it is an indissoluble bond of faith in God, leading us not towards separation, but towards communion (…) May our conscience scold us for having omitted concrete actions, for having discarded opportunities, for not having tried all paths leading to unity”.

We are grateful for the presence of our Jewish and Muslim brothers in this celebration, as well as for that of the Christian brothers of other confessions. This presence is a witness of the untiring work of this pontificate in favour of inter-religious and ecumenical dialogue, and of the need for all of us to progress along this journey, which has been authoritatively and courageously indicated by John Paul II, in order to build a mentality of peace and mutual respect. All believers, Jews, Muslims and Christians, have to be, first and foremost, credible witnesses of hope, because they are convinced about the goodness which God bestows upon all human persons. We cannot live without hope. We need to be witnesses and responsible custodians of hope. In this context, Pope John Paul II had a particular attention towards the monotheistic religions.

The first visit of a Pope to the Synagogue of Rome on April 13th,1986 was a historical event. For us, who live in a Jewish context, this gesture still presents a meaning which would be difficult to overestimate. In fact, with that gesture, John Paul II has inaugurated new relationships of friendship, reciprocal knowledge and respect between the Catholic Church and the Jewish tradition, in which Christianity is strongly rooted, and without which it would not be possible to understand the event of Jesus of Nazareth. On that occasion the Pope thanked the Lord for “the rediscovered sense of brotherhood and the profound mutual understanding between the Church and the Jewish religion”, and he expressed his trust that “the old prejudices would be overcome and that there would be space for an ever greater recognition of that bond and of that common spiritual patrimony which exists between Jews and Christians.” The Pope continued to say: “The Jewish religion is not ‘extrinsic’ to us, but in a certain way it is ‘intrinsic’ to our religion.”

The Pope has also known how to accomplish prophetic gestures with the Islamic world, as he did, for example, during his visit to the Great Ummayad Mosque of Damascus, on May 6th, 2001, during which he said: “It is important that Muslims and Christians continue to explore together new philosophical and theological questions, in order to obtain a more objective and complete knowledge of the religious beliefs of the other. A better sense of reciprocal understanding will certainly lead, on a practical level, to a new way of presenting our two religions, not in opposition, as has often happened in the past, but in collaboration for the good of the human family.

Inter-religious dialogue is more effective when it is born out of the experience of ‘living with one another’ everyday in the context of the same community and culture.”

I certainly cannot conclude this brief and inadequate remembrance of John Paul II without mentioning the pilgrimage which he accomplished here in the Holy Land from March 20th to the 26th, on the occasion of the Great Jubilee of the year 2000. The gestures which the Pope accomplished during that historic pilgrimage constitute a milestone in the spiritual journey of the Church in its relationship with the Jewish religion and Islam. The historical visits to the Western Wall and to the Mosques are still impressed upon our memory.

During his pilgrimage the Pope said: “For us all of Jerusalem, as its name indicates, is the City of Peace.” In that occasion the Pope raised his voice to invoke the gift of peace, for this city, for the Holy Land, for the Middle East, and for the whole world! The Holy Land, in particular, has always been at the very top of his thoughts and of his concerns. We remember the many Angelus he dedicated to this theme and to his unforgettable Magisterium regarding peace on the occasion of the Messages of the World Day of Peace!

I would like to quote one message which was particularly significant, the one on the year 2002, entitled There is no peace without justice, there is no justice without forgiveness: “While meditating upon the theme of forgiveness, we cannot forget to mention some tragic situations of conflict, which have long been the cause of profound and divisive hatred, with the consequent and uncontrollable spiralling of personal and collective tragedies. I am referring, in particular, to what is happening in the Holy Land, that blessed and sacred place of encounter between God and humanity, the place of the life, death and resurrection of Jesus, the Prince of peace.” Those words are still meaningful today, and it is still so difficult today to forgive one another in our beloved Land as it was then!

It is precisely in this context, torn by hatred and divisions, by longstanding tensions, by enmity, and above all by fear, that the voice of John Paul II always rose up with authority in order to invite all the parties to meet with one another, to overcome the mutual hostilities, but above all to abandon every from of violence, from which can only derive more violence.

There is one episode in that historic pilgrimage of the Jubilee Year which I would like to recount. On the day of his departure the Holy Father, with a decision which nobody had expected, asked to return here, in this basilica, to be able to remain in solitary prayer on the rock of Mount Calvary. This episode has returned to my memory because I believe that it is emblematic of all the pontificate of John Paul II. His was a pontificate lived under the shadow of the Cross. In these last years, when we looked at him, we have felt within us the echo of the prophecy of Isaiah, which we hear every Friday during the Via Crucis: “He was despised and rejected by men, a man of sorrows, and familiar with suffering. Like one from whom men hide their faces he was despised, and we esteemed him not.” This is how John Paul II appeared: an icon of Him who “with His holy Cross has redeemed the world.” But even in his physical weaknesses the Holy Father continued to be in the world a witness of the Resurrection of Christ and of his liberating significance for every human person. It was here, after all, that five years ago the Pope said: “The Resurrection of Our Lord Jesus Christ is the sign that the Eternal Father is faithful to His promise and can make a new life to be born out of death. (…) The Good News of the Resurrection can never be separated from the mystery of the Cross.”

This faith which the Holy Father proclaimed is our own faith. If we are saddened at this moment because of the death of this eminent figure of the Church of Christ, we are nevertheless serenely convinced that “Christ raised from the dead will never die again; death has no more power over him.” In fact, we know that “he lives, and lives for God” (Rom 3,8.10).

The prophet Isaiah today proclaims: On this mountain the Lord will destroy the shroud that enfolds all peoples, the sheet that covers all nations; he will swallow up death forever. The Sovereign Lord will wipe away the tears from all faces; he will remove the disgrace of his people from all the earth. The Lord has spoken. Surely this is our God; we trusted in him and he saved us. This is the Lord, we trusted in him; let us be glad in his salvation. The hand of the Lord will rest on this mountain” (Is 25,7.9-10) that is Jerusalem.

Certainly, on this mountain, in Jerusalem, in this place, we have experienced His salvation. Here He has cancelled death for ever and He has wiped away all tears. The angel of the Gospel still proclaims this truth: “Do not be afraid! … He has risen, as He had said … go and proclaim this to all my brothers” (Mt 28,5.10).

John Paul II leaves this legacy to us, inhabitants of the Holy Land: Do not be afraid! These are the words we have proclaimed in the Gospel we just heard. The same words were also the central motif of Magisterium. These words are now being proclaimed to us, who live on this mountain, in Jerusalem, in order to encourage us to act: we are not afraid to rejoice at His salvation and to witness to our brothers and sisters that love which embraces all peoples, which breaks down all barriers, which wins over all hatred and wins over every division.

May the Mother of the Lord, to whom the Pope consecrated his ministry with the motto Totus tuus, welcome her son in the joy of the saints and may she give to the Church a new leader who will know how to guide her along the same paths traced by John Paul II.

Fr. Pierbattista Pizzaballa, ofm
Custos of the Holy Land

Jerusalem – Holy Sepulchre – 6.4.2005
bullet  Communications Main                                Custody Main  bullet

rightlogo

 

FOLLOW THIS LINK IF YOU WANT TO  Contact us - Contattaci - Contacte con nosotros

Please fill in our Guest book form - Thank you for supporting us!
Created/Updated Tuesday, 6 April, 2005 at 8:56:08 am by J.Abela, E.Alliata, Marina Mordin
Web site uses Javascript and CSS stylesheets - Space by courtesy of Christus Rex

© The Franciscans of the Holy Land

cyber logo footer